Her emergencies

My girl is clingy that she would always want me with her at the work station. And thanks for the husband who doesn’t let me work, she has the luxury of having me by her side 24/7.

But sometimes, it gets on my nerves that I always have to delay bath, or finish the clients’ work at the last minute because she just wants me to attend to her emergencies. Balk all you want, but to a 4-year-old, colouring is an emergency. Like, we have to do it RIGHT NOW.

BATHING, EATING, CLEANING AND EVEN BREATHING CAN WAIT.

img_3620img_3619img_3615

I might say that it’s every parent’s dilemma to say yes to participating into the kids’ activities when you have a lot of things to do or errands to run in a day. Sometimes, I had to babysit her with my Iphone so I can send my articles on time. But then I would feel guilty because once she has the phone, she would not be interested to sit in her play area anymore.

Azim has never liked the idea of gadgets. Khayra doesn’t really have problem with us taking away the gadgets because we never allow her to play with them all the time. Thats a relief. But then, Azim is starting to realise that I have extended her time with the gadgets and asked me to think about it.

I feel terrible. But then, a friend reminded me once that only lousy mothers think that they are not terrible parents. Tricky, indeed.

So, being an amazing parent, I try to attend to all her emergencies for the past few days. And guess what, she came to me one day and hugged me.

“Thank you Mama for playing with me. You are my best friend in the whole wide world”.

I delayed my bath for another three hours later on.

 

Leave a Reply

