Have a good rest, Tok Guru

It’s a sad sad day. When I came across a post of the passing of this special man, I was speechless. I was in the class, and we were having a production day, which was supposed to be chaotic. I did my work, worked on the stories, but my mind traveled somewhere else.

I can’t write. And I couldn’t even string a sentence.

Life is short. Really. No matter how much we have achieved in life, and how much money we make, it’s the life of the herafter that counts most. At the end of the day, life is just a pit stop towards the ultimate goal of Jannah. Tok Guru, as he fondly called, was taken on Thursday night. Subhanallah. Allah loves him.

TGNA

What have we done so far in life that we thought Allah would be really pleased with us? I have no clue. If Allah decides to take me away at this very moment, I don’t know where do I actually belong in His eyes. How many people have I wronged my entire life? Are all the time I have wisely spent in remembering Him and the prophet Muhammad? Have I been choosing sleeping over reading the holy Quran? Have I been dressing well, covering every bit of my aurah? Have I taught my child about Allah and Islam? Have I sinned too much that sometimes, I don’t realise committing ones because I was used to them? Astaghfirullahalazim.

What are our goals in life, really.

Hadith no: 62, Narrated: Awf bin Malik
“I heard the Messenger of Allah (saw) offering the (funeral) prayer for one who had died, and I heard him say in his supplication:

‘Allahummaghfir lahu warhamhu wa ‘afihi wa a’fu ‘anhu wa akrim nuzulahu wa wassi’ madkhalahu waghsilhu bil-ma’i wath-thalji wal-baradi wa naqqihi min al-khataya kama ynaqqath-thawb al-abyad min ad-danas. (O Allah, forgive him and have mercy on him, keep him safe and sound and forgive him, honor the place where he settles and make his entrance wide; wash him with water and snow and hail, and cleanse him of sin as a white garment is cleansed of dirt).” (Sahih)

Al-Fatihah, Tok Guru. Have a good rest. Your time and struggle in the dunya is over. May you enjoy being in the company of the solihin, and under His safe care.

In the name of God, the infinitely Compassionate and Merciful. Praise be to God, Lord of all the worlds. The Compassionate, the Merciful. Ruler on the Day of Reckoning. You alone do we worship, and You alone do we ask for help. Guide us on the straight path, the path of those who have received your grace; not the path of those who have brought down wrath, nor of those who wander astray. Amen.

In the name of God, the infinitely Compassionate and Merciful.
Praise be to God, Lord of all the worlds.
The Compassionate, the Merciful. Ruler on the Day of Reckoning.
You alone do we worship, and You alone do we ask for help.
Guide us on the straight path,
the path of those who have received your grace;
not the path of those who have brought down wrath, nor of those who wander astray.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

